The mansion at Gelli aur, with its crow stepped gables, battlemented portico and tall polygonal chimney stacks built between 1827and 1832,was once the home of the Cawdor family. The original building built between 1565 and 1570 and occupied by the Vaughan family no longer exists.
In 1804 the last of the Vaughans died childless and the estate passed to the Cawdor family.
Nowadays this magnificent building stands un-occupied surrounded by over 60 acres of woodland, although the gardens of the mansion seemed a little run down when we came here in June. Please note the mansion is not open to the public
There is a nature trail where you can explore woods, ponds, and parkland. In spring the woodland floor is carpeted in bluebells, but the best time to visit is May when the Rhododendrums are in flower.
There are also some nice views across the Towy Valley.
There is a small deer park with about 15 fallow deer, and also an arboretum (or tree collection) which contains Giant Redwoods and Monterey Pines.
The arboretum was planted in 1860 by the Cawdor's head gardener William Hill.
There is a cafeteria guarded by a number of Peacocks, a small children's playground and toilets. Car parking charges apply Entry to the grounds is free.
The park is well sign posted from the town of Llandeilo.
About Gelli Aur Country Park
Address: Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales, SA32 8LR
Attraction Type: Garden
Location: 2 miles south west of Llandeilo, off the A476 and B4300
April ~ Sept 10:30~5:00